The power of chakra colours

Chakra Colours


Colour, colourful, chakra – because every energy centre not only has its own meaning, but also its own colour design. The colours are not chosen by chance. What are the different colours of the 7 main chakras are all about, we would like to bring you a little closer.


Colour theory and chakra colours


Colours have a conscious and unconscious effect on us. Each of us knows the concept of warm or cold colours. For example, red-painted rooms feel warmer to people than rooms with blue walls. We also encounter colours at school – and by that we don’t just mean art lessons! In physics we speak of light colors, the colorful rainbow colors into which white sunlight can be refracted. On the other hand there are the colours of our art lessons, the so-called body colours. In other words the colours of objects, things or living beings.


Colours act directly on the uvula of the eye, i.e. the light-sensitive cells, thanks to which we can recognise and perceive the colours of the rainbow! Depending on culture and individual preferences, colours also have a different effect on our psyche. Best example: Individual favourite colours, where the friends just shake their heads.


In physics, it is like with chakras


As in art, each chakra not only has its own colour, but also each colour has its own meaning. If a certain chakra is out of balance, a kind of complementary colour can be used to bring about harmonization. These colours, which are radiated by the individual energy centers, are called aura colours. Also in physics the mixture of all chakra colours becomes white, the colour of the crown chakra – easy to remember, right?


And now Let us get to the exciting part!


The meaning of the chakra colours

Red: The color of the root chakra is red. Red belongs to our basic colours and stands for the body in classical symbolism. The colour has a warm, energizing effect and radiates joie de vivre.


Orange: The colour of self-confidence, warmth and the sacral chakra. The colour orange should radiate stability and courage. The colour is regarded as a pole of warmth because, unlike red, it appears more discreet.


Yellow: Yellow is not only the second basic colour, but also, according to Goethe’s theory of colours, a “coloured representative of light”. In the chakra doctrine, yellow is regarded as the colour of communication and focuses the mind on the essential.


Green: The colour of nature stands above all for harmony. Green is a calming colour and is intended to strengthen self-love, warmth of heart and decisiveness. It is the ideal colour to bring oneself “into balance”.


Blue: The third basic colour of our colour spectrum is blue, the cold pole of the spectrum – according to Goethe. Blue is the coldest colour and in classical symbolism stands for the soul and feeling. Grief and negative qualities are supported by this colour. However, blue is supposed to slow down great excitement and over-activity due to its calming properties.


Violet: Goethe described violet as an “undecided color” between red and blue. The wavelength of the color violet borders on the edge of the invisible, because the human eye can only perceive colors from 400 Nm. Exactly at this edge is the color violet. This property made violet the gateway to the spiritual side – the edge to the invisible. It is supposed to strengthen intuition and stimulate the mind.


White: White is the color of the seventh and highest energy center. It combines the properties of all light colours and, according to Goethe, brews on the “joys and sorrows” of white light. White is universally applicable and serves for the general harmonization of the mind.